Omaha Arkansas Volunteer Fire Department

Home Open Positions Our Equipment Ladies Auxiliary History Gallery


Welcome to the Omaha Arkansas Volunteer Fire Department Web site


We are currently seeking a Chief for our Volunteer Fire Department.

If you are interested, please click here for more information and job description

In the event of an emergency call:


 Non Emergency Number:  870-426-4550



Chief --John Simpers

Monthly Board meetings are open to the public.  The Board meets the second Tuesday of every month.  Meetings are held at the Omaha Volunteer Fire Department Station #1  23687 Old HWY 65, Omaha, AR.  Meetings begin at 6pm.

Annual Dues of $35.00 are payable at the Following Locations:

Omaha Volunteer Fire Department Station #1

H & R Service:  23543 Old Hwy 6



  Current Burn Ban information can be found through this link-- Arkansas burn ban information Click here



Omaha Rural Fire Department Receives Rural Community Grant


Little Rock, AR:  Governor Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) Executive Director Mike Preston and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $319,763.38 to 27 rural communities on Thursday, October 18, 2018.  The communities were selected for Fiscal Year 2019 Cycle I funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program.


In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development grant on behalf of Omaha Rural Fire Department in Boone County.  Omaha Rural Fire Department received $15,000.00 to construct a 40x60 metal building with 4 drive through bays, concrete floor with drains, 2 restrooms with showers, LED lighting and propane heat throughout the new fire station.


The Arkansas Economic Development Commission, Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to select the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs recipients. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office. 


For more information about Rural Services grant programs or other services, please contact the Division of Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.


Pictured from Left to Right:  

                                       Rural Services Director Alex Johnston; Steve O’Brien; Mary O’Brien; Representative Jack Fortner; Governor Asa Hutchinson; AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston; ARDC Chair David Johnston.




The ORFA trailer raffle winner was Ms. Jones from Texas.    Ms. Jones purchased 5 raffle tickets during the Crawdad Days festival in Harrison this summer.

   She was selling lawn ornaments and trying to raise money to help her son with an upcoming kidney transplant.

   Ms. Jones said it is a blessing to win the trailer!

   She has no need for the trailer.

    She sold the trailer and plans to use the money for her surgery as she is donating one of her kidneys' to her son.

  ORFA wishes Ms. Jones and her son good luck with their future kidney transplant!  



The state of Arkansas has provisions for linking dues to property tax collection.  Adopting this method of payment collection would greatly increase the ability and capacity of this volunteer fire department to protect our community.  Click here to review State of Arkansas House Bill 1367 which pertains to this topic.


A copy of our By-Laws can be viewed here.


ISO Rating:

Equipment Needs:



Contact Information

Non-Emergency Phone 870-426-4550